Special Advisory Council

The Special Advisory Council (SAC) provides guidance and support to the Board of Directors on strategic Institute issues and initiatives; represents the Institute in the marketplace and academia; implements ad hoc subcommittees to advance the Institute’s mission; and helps build the Institute and increase membership. The SAC is comprised of approx. 25 individuals representing the demographics of discipline and geography that comprise the Institute’s membership, and reflects the international mission, multidisciplinary diversity, and inclusionary practices of the Institute. The committee chairs organize and oversee the Council, manage communications, chair meetings, represent the FTI board of directors in SAC activities, and report to the board of directors regarding these SAC activities. The chairs define the qualifications and responsibilities of SAC members, and recruit and recommend individuals to the Board of Directors for review and approval. Council members serve a two-year term renewable at the discretion of the SAC Chair and the Board of Directors. SAC members are very active in Institute committees, initiatives, events and programs.

Council Members

Photo of Stacey Hooper

Stacey Hooper

Principal, NBBJ

Council Co-chair
Photo of Mic Patterson

Mic Patterson

Ambassador of Innovation & Collaboration, Facade Tectonics Institute

Council Co-chair
Photo of Bob Cangemi

Bob Cangemi

Renaissance Building Products

Council Member
Photo of Nick Carrillo

Nick Carrillo

Mountain States Manager, WWCCA

Council Member
Photo of Joe Conover

Joe Conover

Vice President, Clark Construction

Council Member
Photo of Alex Cox

Alex Cox

Marketing Communications Manager, Permasteelisa

Council Member
Photo of Chris DeHaven

Chris DeHaven

Senior Project Manager, McCarthy Building Companies

Council Member
Photo of Florian Doebbel

Florian Doebbel

Business Development Manager, Facades, Sika - Vertical Glass

Council Member
Photo of Chris Drew

Chris Drew

Smith Gill

Council Member
Photo of Stéphane Hoffman

Stéphane Hoffman

Vice President Facade Engineering, Morrison Hershfield

Council Member
Photo of Ron Hull

Ron Hull


Council Member
Photo of Jon Kimberlain

Jon Kimberlain

TS&D Scientist, Dow

Council Member
Photo of Mikkel Kragh

Mikkel Kragh

Professor; Head of Section, University of Southern Denmark (SDU)

Council Member
Photo of Sameer Kumar

Sameer Kumar

SHoP Architects

Council Member
Photo of John Neary

John Neary


Council Member
Photo of Becher Neme

Becher Neme

Principal, Neme Design Studio

Council Member
Photo of Mathew O'Malley

Mathew O'Malley

DPR Construction

Council Member
Photo of Sophie Pennetier

Sophie Pennetier


Council Member
Photo of Lisa Ramming

Lisa Ramming

Eckersley O’Callaghan

Council Member
Photo of April Rawson

April Rawson

Commerical Program Manager, National Fenestration Rating Council

Council Member
Photo of Brienna Rust

Brienna Rust

Consulting Engineer, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger

Council Member
Photo of Matt Staublin

Matt Staublin


Council Member
Photo of Sanjeev Tankha

Sanjeev Tankha

Director I Enclosure Practice, Walter P Moore

Council Member
Photo of Marty Trainor

Marty Trainor

Vice President of Preconstruction, Ventana Design-Build Systems

Council Member
Photo of Hamid Vossoughi

Hamid Vossoughi

Senior Principal, WSP

Council Member
Photo of Ye Wang

Ye Wang


Council Member
Photo of Audrey Wu

Audrey Wu


Council Member
Photo of Stephan Wurster

Stephan Wurster

Architect, Business Development Manager, Pohl

Council Member

Want to get involved?

The inaugural group of SAC members was just recently seated. Openings in the SAC will be filled on an annual basis or as deemed appropriate by the committee chairs, with appointees approved by the board of directors. Expressions of interest are always welcome.

Request to join